Honors Categories

These are the publications, organizations or awards that we feature in the Honors section of the Buzz section in Edelweiss+:

ABC Best Books for Young Readers – Selected by the American Booksellers Association ABC Children’s Group, these titles are bestsellers and buzz-worthy books, but also unique finds.

Agatha Awards – Chosen by Malice Domestic the Agatha Awards honor the traditional mystery, books typified by the works of Agatha Christie and others. For their purposes, the genre is loosely defined as mysteries that contain no explicit sex, excessive gore or gratuitous violence, and are not classified as “hard-boiled.”

ALA Notable Books – for Adults (established 1944) is an annual list selected by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), a division of the American Library Association

Alex Award Nominee

Alex Award Winner – Sponsored by the YALSA division of ALA and given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year’s publishing.

Audies – an annual award given by the American Audio Publishers Association for audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment.

Banned and Challenged Titles –  the most challenged books in the United States based on data gathered by the American Library Association’s Office for Intellect Freedom based on data gathered from media reports and reports from librarians and teachers.

Booklist Starred Review

Boston-Globe Horn Book Awards – a set of American literary awards conferred by The Boston Globe and The Horn Book Magazine annually from 1967. One book is recognized in each of three categories: Fiction and Poetry, Nonfiction, and Picture Book.

Bulletin – Book of Special Distinction – Selected by the Center for Children’s Books at the Schol of Information Sciences at the University of Illinois.

Caldecott Honor Book

Caldecott Medal Winner – The Randolph Caldecott Medal annually recognizes the preceding year’s “most distinguished American picture book for children”, beginning with 1937 publications. It is awarded to the illustrator by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library

Coretta Scott King Award – Selected by the EMIERT round table of the ALA, the award is given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Edgar Award – presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America, based in New York City. They honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television, film, and theater published or produced in the previous year.

Horn Book Recommended

Hugo Award – a set of literary awards given annually for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them.

Indie Next – Bookseller-recommended favorites.

Indies Introduce – Adult – Two panels of booksellers chose the Indies Introduce titles—10 adult and 10 children’s—as the best of the season’s debuts

Indies Introduce – Children

Ingram Best Of The Best

James Beard Foundation Book Awards – annual awards presented by the James Beard Foundation to recognize culinary professionals in the United States, sometimes called the “Oscars” of the food world.

Kirkus Prizeone of the richest literary awards in the world, with a prize of $50,000 bestowed annually to authors of fiction, nonfiction, and young readers’ literature.

Kirkus Starred Review

KulturSPIEGEL Paperback-Bestseller

Library Journal Starred Review

LibraryReads – the monthly nationwide library staff picks list for adult fiction and non-fiction.

Man Booker Finalist

Man Booker Prize – The prize, which launched in 1969, aims to promote the finest in fiction by rewarding the best novel of the year written in English and published in the United Kingdom.

Midwest Connections – An eligible title has one of the following connections to the region: the author was raised in or currently resides in the region; the book takes place in or is about an area in the region; the spirit of the book reflects the region. All titles are selected by a committee of bookseller members.

National Book Award Finalist

National Book Award Winner – Overseen by the National Book Foundation, the National Book Awards were established in 1950 to celebrate the best writing in America.

National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist

National Book Critics Circle Award Winner – a set of annual American literary awards by the National Book Critics Circle to promote “the finest books and reviews published in English”.

National Reading Group Month, Great Group Reads – From the Women’s National Book Association

New England Book Award – Chosen by the New England Independent Booksellers Association. For 20 years NEIBA recognized New England authors’ “body of work” with the New England Book Awards. Beginning in 2010 we are changing the focus to specific titles, in Fiction, Non-Fiction and Children’s.

Newbery Honor Book

Newbery Medal Winner – is a literary award given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of “the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children”.

NY Times Notable Books of the Year – The editors of The Times Book Review choose the best fiction and nonfiction titles each year.

Okra Picks – are a bushel of fresh titles chosen each season that SIBA Indie Bookstores want to hand-sell. These books should be southern in nature but can cover any genre, not just fiction.

Pen Literary Award – annually honor outstanding voices in literature across diverse genres, including fiction, poetry, drama, science and sports writing, essays, biography, and children’s literature.

PEN/Faulkner Award – The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is awarded annually by the PEN/Faulkner Foundation to the authors of the year’s best works of fiction by living American citizens.

Printz Award Honor Book

Printz Award Winner – The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. Titles are selected by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of ALA.

Publishers Weekly Starred Reviews

Pulitzer Finalist

Pulitzer Prize – The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States.

SLJ Starred Review – School Library Journal

SPIEGEL Bestseller

SPIEGEL online Taschenbuch-Bestseller

Texas Bluebonnet Award Nominee

Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner – Each year, 20 books are chosen for the Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List. Schools and libraries around the state participate in the program, encouraging students to read a minimum of five books from the list. In January, students vote for their favorite title. The author of the book receiving the most votes is the winner of the Texas Bluebonnet Award (TBA) which is presented at the Texas Library Association Annual Conference.

Thank for Shopping Indie

We Need Diverse Books – a non-profit and grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people.