You can start working on a Markup from within any of your catalogs or collections. At the bottom of your screen, you’ll see a blue bar that shows selected Markup, Shares, etc.
If you don’t see the blue bar, that simply means that it’s been mimimized. You can expand it here – the blue square with the white pencil icon in the lower-left of your screen:
Your initial Markup will be simply called “Default.” If you’re OK with it being called Default, then you’re ready to start. If you’d like to “rename” it, you can do so here, by adding a new markup:
Note: Your accounts won’t see the name of your Markup. This is simply for your reference. Some reps do multiple markups, generally with just a few elements changed between the various versions. For example, one rep with a large territory might have a few markups in which all the markup notes stay the same, but the Tags change. So, their territory might cover the entire west coast, and a “Local Author” tag that is relevant in Seattle wouldn’t be as relevant in San Diego. So in the example above, this rep might have 3 markups: “Fall 2016 Northwest accounts,” “Fall 2016 Northern CA accounts,” and “Fall 2016 Southern CA accounts,” and they would share these markups with the relevant accounts in those regions. Many reps simply do one markup and share it with all their accounts. The method you choose to sell to your accounts is all up to you, of course.
When naming a Markup, you’ll be in the Create Markup screen, which will allow you to name it for your reference, as well as provide a “Markup Overview.” The overview can be a convenient way to include a message for your accounts – anything from a breakdown of the discount schedule, alerts to co-op opportunities, or a simple “Hello, can’t wait to meet with you this season!,” etc. That “Markup Overview” will be included in the email that is sent when you share your markup with your accounts.
You will also have the opportunity to copy elements from an existing markup you’ve already done in the particular catalog you are working in, which is why doing multiple markups isn’t quite so difficult as you might think. Once you’ve finished the first markup, simply create a new one, and then select that completed markup and copy the elements you’d like to duplicate. You can then go in and change a few pieces of that new markup to be relevant to a new group of accounts.
You’ll see this box on each title, where you’ll be able to ‘build’ your Markups:
Note, you (and your accounts) will see the “Markup Overview” here when viewing that marked up catalog:
Just click on the name of the Markup in the Markup bar to edit this message.